Author interview with Julayn Adams

 

Here’s my second author interview. This week I spotlight a very exciting young writer. My friend Jules.

 

With a diverse background ranging from preschool teacher and professional princess, to diagnostic sonographer, Julayn Adams has discovered a new passion and talent for writing. Originally from Massachusetts, she now resides in Australia with her husband and four children, three of whom she home-schools. With her first work, a children’s book illustrated by her youngest son, already released, she is excited to introduce her Young Adult novel, Almana. Julayn is currently working on the second of this three part series, Vision (Almana #2), and looks forward to its release later in the year.

 

Almana synopsis.

In the aftermath of World War III, the world has become a dangerous place. The ruthless dictator, Equis, and his army, Armageddon, are quickly taking over major metropolitan areas on the west coast of the United States. The end of humanity is imminent. Their one hope lies in the hands of a seventeen year old girl, Alexa. When Almana volunteers to leave Heaven to guide Alexa, she never thought that her own destiny would include falling in love with a human. Now, cursed to remain on Earth forever, Almana finds that her task is much more than she bargained for.

 

INTERVIEW:

 

  1. When did you first realise that you wanted to become a writer?

I’m a little unique amongst writers in this topic. While most writers have been writing since they were children, I only recently got the bug when I had an amazing idea for a story that I just couldn’t put away. That idea has now developed into a trilogy! I’ve always been a great communicator and have always had a talent of getting into the mind of others, but I’ve never used those skills in this way. There are many different sides to my personality (ask my alter, Georgina :P) and I think that it helps me really build characters that I truly “know”.

  1. What novels/works have you released and what are you working on now?

While working on the first draft of Almana, I was inspired by an interaction between my two younger boys, Masen and Gavin. From that came “My Brother’s Name is Masen”. It’s a true to life picture book about their relationship to help siblings of Asperger’s children (Masen has Asperger’s Syndrome). Gavin did all of the illustrations and we published it on Amazon in September of 2015.

Almana is due to be released within a month. It is a young adult paranormal/ romance/ dystopia. Almana is the first instalment of a trilogy and is about an angel that leaves a lost Heaven to guide and save the girl who will save both humanity and Heaven after a devastating World War. It’s about friendship, love, loss, and there are a few unexpected twists hinting towards the intense third book.

  1. I’m a new author. Tell me how to achieve my goal?

Well, we’re in this boat together! I have found the community of writers, especially indie, to be amazingly supportive. Help out others and they will help you in return. Be a giver, read tons, promote early, and don’t give up!

  1. Is there anyone who has influenced your writing?

There are so many! My family’s support has been the biggest influence. I also have made a good writer friend, Lanie Jacobs (Amaranthine) who has been irreplaceable. I would have given up at chapter two had I not had their support. There have been books that have more recently influenced and inspired my story like the Divergent series by Veronica Roth, the Mercy series by Rebecca Lim, and Delirium by Lauren Oliver to name a few.

  1. What makes you sit down and want to share your stories?

Excitement! It’s like a virus really. The Almana series has built in my mind so vividly that I honestly can’t contain it.

  1. Tell us a little bit about yourself?

First off, I’m a Christian, a wife, and a mom of four/six (four mine, two hubby’s). I’ve worked a variety of types of jobs: restaurant manager, school bus driver, and preschool teacher. I’ve also owned my own business organising and entertaining as a princess at children’s dress up parties and tea parties. Most recently, I enjoyed a very rewarding career as a sonographer up until moving to Australia, which is a story in and of itself!
I’d describe myself as an eclectic type of person. I enjoy a large variety of things from history and science, to fantasy, movies, sports, art, and reading. Some days I’m very introverted, others I’m very extroverted. I love to talk to and meet new people and rarely wait in line at the grocery store without striking up a conversation with the people behind me. I must be pretty interesting because it never seems to weird them out 😉

 

Thanks,

Julayn

Almana hits the virtual shelves very soon. Be sure to grab a copy and let yourself be swept away…

 

2 thoughts on “Author interview with Julayn Adams

Leave a Reply

