Author interview with Tim Heath

 

Another week, another interview. This week I’ve the pleasure of sharing with you the thoughts and works of Tim Heath.

Tim  has been married to his wife Rachel since 2001 and they have two daughters. He lives in Tallinn, Estonia, having moved there with his family in 2012 from St Petersburg, Russia, which they moved to in 2008. He is originally from Kent in England and lived for eight years in Cheshire, before moving abroad. His debut novel (Cherry Picking) was published in 2012 and his second novel (The Last Prophet) in January 2015.  His third novel (The Tablet) was released in late 2015.

INTERVIEW QUESTIONS:

  1. When did you first realise that you wanted to become a writer?

I think it might have been a slightly gradual process, though once I had finally finished my first novel I was then really wanting to know what people made of it!  That was about four years ago, though I’d been writing it as far back as ten years before.

 

2. What novels/works have you released and what are you working on now?

I’ve got three books out (Cherry Picking, The Last Prophet, and The Tablet) with a fourth book written in first draft form (The Shadow Man – due out end of this year) and I just today started writing what will become book five, the first of a three part series that form The Hunt series…so I’m very excited about that.  I managed 6,650 words today, a great start!

3. I’m a new author. Tell me how to achieve my goal?
I guess it depends what your goal is?  If its just to have someone published, thats not so hard.  If, like me, its to have a genuine writing career with thousands (millions!) of people reading and enjoying your books, books that go on to become great films, then that might be a little harder. For that I’d say make that first book as good as you can.  It’ll never be perfect, but don’t rush it just to get it out there (an error I made first time round that has thankfully been corrected).  Seek advice, get the help you need.  Don’t assume you can proof your own work – get outside eyes on it.  There are some great writing resources that have helped.
Basically keep writing, keep pressing through.  Though its a crowded world with books available all over the place, if yours in good enough you have to believe it will get noticed before too long.

4. Is there anyone who has influenced your writing?
I don’t know, but I’m certain there are loads.  I do give credit to God for giving me this talent and ideas.  It’s certainly not just me!  I grew up reading Jack Higgins and then moved onto John Grisham, so I’m sure there is something there, even if I’m not writing the same style as they are.

5. What makes you sit down and want to share your stories?
The ideas.  For me I stopped being someone who wrote stuff and became an author when the ideas started coming – premise, title, characters, the lot!  These were stories I wanted to do justice to.  Stuff I was seeing in my head that I knew, if I could write it at least half decently, others would enjoy too.  So yeah, it’s certainly the thought of sharing these adventures with others.

6. Tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m English, though live abroad.  First I lived in St Petersburg, Russia, before moving (4 years on 1st March already!) to Tallinn, Estonia.  It’s nearly 8 years since we moved away from England.  I’m married with two wonderful daughters.
Links that you might want to use –
www.timheathbooks.com Twitter – @TimHeathBooks Facebook – www.facebook.com/TimHeathAuthor

Amazon links for novels

UK – http://www.timheathbooks.com/amazonUK

USA – http://www.timheathbooks.com/amazonUSA

 

Many thanks Tim 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

