Another week, another interview. I have the pleasure of speaking to the very talented Anna Lores. Anna, tell us a little bit about yourself to get started:

I was born in New York and currently live in the great state of Texas. I have a bachelor’s degree in English Literature from The University of Georgia. I’m a mom of three, a very cautious adventurer, and a dog lover.

I’ve been known to enjoy a glass of cabernet sauvignon every now and again, and I’m a sucker for a good home exercise program – if you’re curious which one I’m currently doing, just ask. It’s a good one. Also, I attempt to be a runner during the week, but really, I’m as slow as Christmas.

INTERVIEW QUESTIONS:

1. When did you first realise that you wanted to become a writer?

I’ve always written, but never really considered writing fiction as a career until about five years ago when I started having trouble sleeping. I’d written poems and love letters to special people in my life since I could hold a pencil. But becoming a writer seemed an impossible task. Then, a bout with insomnia changed everything in my life. All those poems and love letter along with life experiences and situations seemed to swirl together and form worlds. Characters and plots were created in my mind. More and more ideas were born. So many, I’ll never have enough time to write them all down. To make a long story even longer, I realised I wanted to become a writer when one of my beta readers cried and laughed and yelled at one of my early stories. It was one simple conversation which changed the trajectory of my life and pushed me to move my work from giving me and my close friends something to talk about, to sharing my fictional worlds with everyone.

2. What novels/works have you released and what are you working on now?

I have two ebooks out in The Horse List series right now, The Horse List, and The Horse List Challenge. The third book, The Horse List Unveiled is being released June 1st. I’m working on an erotic novella that will be coming out in September of this year. And I recently contracted with The Wild Rose Press for a contemporary erotic series.

3. I’m a new author. Tell me how to achieve my goal?

I don’t have any advice on reaching specific goals. But for any writer who is embarking on a career in the publishing industry, my advice is to write, write and write some more. Hone your craft. Find your voice or voices. Immerse yourself in your characters’ lives while you’re writing. Cry with them. Laugh with them. Put away the negative voices that keep you from writing what you want. Never forget that being a writer is as subjective a job as reading. We all don’t like the same things, that’s why we have a bazillion different genres, subgenres, and authors. Find beta readers in your genre and be open to their feedback. They’re your target audience. Get a thick skin, if you don’t already have one, but not too thick. Never forget the feelings of pain, loss, heartache, joy, triumph, and love.  Those emotions let us know we’re alive, and with that, we have time left to write.

4. Is there anyone who has influenced your writing?

There isn’t one person who has influenced me, although I believe every story, poem, research study I’ve ever read has made an impact on what I write and how I develop my characters.

5. What makes you sit down and want to share your stories?

I’m not sure where the crazy desire to spend hours on my laptop creating worlds for stories comes from, but the yearning to share is pretty simple. I love chatting with people about the stories I’ve created, about the characters and their lives. I am excited to see and hear readers’ reactions to each story I write. I enjoy laughing with them and sometimes shedding a tear or two. There is a vulnerability in sharing my work with the public. Doors open to good and bad experiences. But I ask my readers to open up their hearts to my characters lives, their worlds and their journey. So really, my sense of vulnerability seems minor in comparison.

6. If you could be a character from one of your favourite novels, who would it be, and why?

I would probably be Jeaniene Frost’s Vlad Tepesh (Dracula) in Once Burned, a romance novel. I’ve read her novel a dozen or more times since it came out several years ago. I fell in love with the darkness within Vlad’s character, the uncompromising authority in his rule. Yet, when he meets the woman he falls for, love consumes him as much as his ability to burn anything and his thirst for blood. So, I’d be the female version of him…yeah, because I’m not a guy.

 

Thanks Anna. That was great. I have a feeling you will be seeing a lot more of Anna and her fabulous books in the near future.

Please click on Anna’s links for more information:

 

https://twitter.com/annalores

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14064436.Anna_Lores

http://www.annaloresauthor.com/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-horse-list-the-horse-list-series-book-1-anna-lores/1122035292

Leave a Reply

