Author interview with K.R Rowe

IMG_20160524_032759

 

Another week….. You know how it now goes by now.

I am pleased to be interviewing another great author from across the pond. Karen is cool, and when she’s not penning great books, she’s helping her fellow authors spread the word of literature.

Hello. Tell us a little bit about yourself to get us started:

I spent my childhood in Chattanooga, TN and still resides there today. My father was born and raised near Tellico Plains, in the heart of Tennessee’s tract of the Appalachian Mountains. Because I also have my mother’s South Carolina heritage, my southern roots run deep. From a very young age, my overpowering love of the mountains continues to draw me ever towards them. When not tied to my desk, my free time with my family is often spent enjoying any activity that can take me far from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and into the peace of the mountains.

INTERVIEW QUESTIONS:

1. When did you first realise that you wanted to become a writer?

I’ve been writing since I was a preteen. Most of it was poetry back then. I have a book in my attic filled with cheesy hormonal teenage girl poetry. It actually rhymed in those days though. Now my poetry is somewhat vague and weird and sometimes I challenge my readers to guess what I’m writing about.

In middle school, I wrote a lot of short stories, the majority centering around my friends, teenage angst, boys and that sort of thing. In the eighties, I discovered heavy metal, and my poetry and thoughts became a little darker. After my son was born, I didn’t write as much anymore, but I decided it was time to find my true talent. I believe everyone is awesome at one thing, and I intended to find my awesomeness.

I tried painting, but a local farm donkey painted much better. I think he painted with his butt. I had to stop playing the electric guitar, because I was tired of prying the cat from the ceiling. I drew portraits, but I think some of them could have been inspiration for a few mutant horror novels. I was beginning to believe my talent was actually trying things, and sucking miserably. Finally, the writing bug came back once more, and along came my first novel Amber and Blue. I’m not sure if writing is my greatest talent, but I love it, and I’ll leave it up to my readers to decide if I’ve found it or not.

2. What novels/works have you released and what are you working on now?

My first novel was Amber and Blue followed by its sequel, Amber and Blue II – Victory. Both novels are packed with romance, action, and suspense. I actually lost track of the death count in my first two novels and decided I enjoyed killing my characters so much, I should consider crossing genres and write horror. I love horror movies and I find that I am drawn to reading horror more than any other genre, so why not?

My current work in progress is a paranormal horror novel titled, Blood Of The Sixth. It is inspired by a poetic flash fiction piece I wrote for my blog titled Regenerate. The novel itself isn’t poetic and I can’t reveal much of what it is about yet, but if all goes well, I plan to release it October 10th, 2016. It will be available for pre-order as well in early September 2016. Stay tuned to my website KRRowe.com for more details.

  1. I’m a new author. Tell me how to achieve my goal?

I was just about to ask you that same question!  I suppose it depends on what your goal might be. If it is to write a few novels and make a few bucks a month, then I am a total expert on that! If your goal is to write a best seller, my advice is to keep writing, have your book edited by a trusted and thorough editor, and seek out a great cover designer. Keep at it and you will succeed, or at least you will have a few dollars that you didn’t have before. It’s a total win/win situation. My personal goal is to win the lottery and buy a house in the Virgin Islands. But for now, I’ll keep writing and sharing the love.

  1. Is there anyone who has influenced your writing?

Each wonderful book I read leaves me inspired, and I learn a great deal from each and every one. I also think I am influenced by everything and everyone around me.

5. What makes you sit down and want to share your stories?

I love to write and I enjoy sharing the weirdness in my mind. I really enjoy when a reader falls in love with one of my characters. I think that is the best feeling in the world for an author. Once a story is in my head, I need to get it out or it will start to drive me crazy.

  1. If you could be a character from one of your favourite novels, who would it be, and why?

I know I wouldn’t want to be a character from one of my novels because there is a high possibility that they might end up dead.

I honestly can’t think of a character in a novel but there are two characters I on TV I would love to be like. The first is Carol on The Walking Dead. I guess she might count as a book character, although it is a comic book. Carol is tough. Even when she is about to lose her mind, she is still blowing bad guys into clouds of goo. She started out weak and tormented by an abusive husband. Now she doesn’t take crap from anyone. I love that! The second character is Lagertha from Vikings. She is bad ass and if she promises you that she will kill you, she will, and fellas, hotness will not save you.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to go around killing people. (Aside from that Ramsey on The Game of Thrones.) I just admire these two women because they are tough and independent. If I were a guy, however; I might want to be superman so I could fly anywhere in the world and not have to pay $100 dollars extra for luggage fees. Those fees are brutal. Also, I could tie a rope to my leg and pull people on hang gliders anywhere they’d want to go—for a small fee, of course.

Thanks Karen. That was great. I look forward to reading all your books very soon.

Check out Karen’s links.

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6571714.K_R_Rowe

http://www.amazon.com/K.-R.-Rowe/e/B00BF3AURE

https://twitter.com/krrowe?lang=en-gb

2 thoughts on “Author interview with K.R Rowe

Leave a Reply

