Author interview with G.S Tucker

 

Welcome all. Another week, another interview.

This week I’m very lucky to be speaking to G.S. Tucker, author of The Aurora Stone, which hits the virtual shelves as we speak. She is originally from London heading to The West Country as a young child. She then headed north, to the land of mountains and heather, to snare herself a Highlander. After successfully doing so, she headed back down to The West Country, where she resides with her family, enjoying the sea air and the occasional parrot.

Hi Gemma, thank you for agreeing to this interview.

1.     When did you first realize that you wanted to become a writer?

That is an interesting question. It was never my intention to write a book. I have always considered myself an avid reader though. It was actually a friend of mine, Beverly Hollowed. She is also an author and was completely convinced I had a book in me. About a month later I began to have a reoccurring dream. It drove me crazy, so on the fourth night I got up and wrote it down and the opening of The Aurora Stone appeared on the page. You can imagine once I shared it with Beverly, there was no way she was going to let me leave it there. So I carried on writing. I have truly surprised myself!

2.     What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I am not by nature and ambitious person. My only wish for this title is that people enjoy it. If it does well then that’s a bonus. Books have always been a huge part of my life and I have very rarely found one I didn’t enjoy. This is my contribution to escapism.

3.     Which writers inspire you?

There are too many to list! Because I read all genres it is difficult to pin-point who is better. I think every author has their own magic. I do love J.K Rowling. I love her style. Stefanie Meyer is another of my favorites. Her work, especially The Host was just so gripping. I couldn’t put it down. I love Beverly Hollowed’s work. She has this way of writing romance that makes you totally believe the characters are real. Recently I discovered Darcy Coates, I literally love the way she weaves a story and have had a reading marathon over the last few weeks. Just amazing! The author my late father introduced me too as a pre-teen was James Herbert and I still love his work. It still scares me! He gets right under my skin and makes me really think.

4.     So, what have you written?

I actually haven’t written anything besides my new book. It’s all very new to me.

5.     What are you working on at the minute?

I haven’t started it yet but I do have a plot outline for another book based in the same universe as The Aurora stone. All I can tell you at this stage is it is a tri world book. So I have no idea if I can pull it off. I guess we will find out.

6.     Why do you write?

I write to escape I guess. When I am writing I am away from everyday life. To be able to become totally immersed in another world for a few hours is amazing, and to be able to create that world myself is an added bonus, I can go anywhere! My imagination is a bit out there as you will discover if you read my work.

7.     Where do your ideas come from?

The idea for The Aurora Stone came to be in a rather persistent re-occurring dream, I have always had very vivid dreams. I no longer watch horror movies because of it. The second one I am about to start was born from a character in my first book. I find her unique position in the story lends her to have a story of her own,

8.    Do you work to an outline or plot or do prefer just see where an idea takes you?

I try to have a plot. I didn’t with The Aurora Stone until the last third of the book, and that was just to make sure I tied up the loose ends, not leaving a massive plot hole. I have tried to plot my new work in progress but I seriously doubt I will stick to it. The idea will remain the same but the structure of the story most likely will not. I find plots restrictive. I am the kind of person that wakes up a 2am with a great idea for a chapter and puts a note in my phone for the morning.

9.     How do you think you’ve evolved creatively?

I have more confidence in myself. I fell I am able to take an idea and mold it now, whereas before I always believed I couldn’t. Writing is such a fluid creative outlet. It is difficult to say how I have evolved this early on in my writing carrier.

10.     What is the hardest and easiest things about writing?

For me it was putting too much pressure on myself. You hear people talk about writer’s block and I can totally understand where they are coming from. If you over think it you just can’t write. I also found the editing really hard going. I got quite cross with myself for making silly mistakes.

11.     Do you read much and if so who are your favourite authors?

I read on average five books a week. At the moment I have The Cursed Child to start and I am super excited about it. I have just finished the divergent series by Veronica Roth. I love it. She has a great imagination. I have so many authors that I love. My new favourite, I only discovered her a few weeks ago, Is Darcy Coates, I really wanted to read some horror/thrillers and I found her on my Kindle. I have read five of her books and she is definitely on my list now.

12.     What would you say are the main advantages and disadvantages of self-publishing     against being published or the other way around?

That is such a hard question. I would say that self-publishing is great as you make your own choices and timetable. There are so many channels now that it is possible for a self-published author to make it into the shops.

It is really hard work self-publishing. You have to do all your own promotion, because if you don’t get it out there no one else will. With a publishing house you need an agent which you have to pay for and then hope that a publishing house will take your work. That sounds very defeatist and I don’t mean it to. If you don’t have the funds for that rout, self-publishing is a way to share your work and maintain complete control. It’s about finding the right path for you and your book.

13.     Do you have any advice for other budding authors?

If you have an idea, go for it. Don’t second guess it and never throw ideas away. Think about your motives for wanting to be a writer. I personally am not in this for fame and fortune. If that is your motivation that’s cool, just don’t let it be the only reason. Write because you want too or need to. Write because it’s all you think about and you have a million ideas in your head that keep you up at night. Beverly Hollowed once said to me, being a writer, is part of who you are, I really believe that. Above all else enjoy it. It’s a creative art not a test.

14.     How do you relax?

I read, or I go out for walks with my children. I have a pet parrot and I spent time training him which is always an experience! My oldest son love to bake so we quite often make things at the weekend together. I also love movies. Fantasy and Sci-Fi are my favourites but I do watch action and girly rom-coms to.

15.      What is your favorite book and why?

My favourite book is Forever and Always by Beverly Hollowed. It is the best love story I have ever read. I cry every time I read it and I have two copies, so I read it a lot! I love the characters. They are so relatable. I actually tried to have a conversation about the male lead in the book with my husband, because I was heartbroken by a scene he was in. My husband had no idea who I was talking about. I got that immersed in the story I believed the characters were real. Now if that is not a sign of a great book I don’t know what is.

 

Wow! That was great. Thank you so much for your time.

Check out G.S Tucker’s new book, The Aurora Stone, available on Amazon. I expect lots more in the future from this emerging talent.

Here are her links:

Amazon.co.uk

Amazon.com

https://www.facebook.com/Author-GS-Tucker-971799062842818/?fref=ts

https://twitter.com/littleGemz84?lang=en

 

Leave a Reply

