Author interview with Lynda Stacey

 

Welcome all. My first author interview of 2017.

Today I’m very lucky to be interviewing Lynda Stacey. Hi Lynda. Nice to meet you.

Lynda, is a wife, step-mother and grandmother, she grew up in the mining village of Bentley, Doncaster, in South Yorkshire.

Her own life story, along with varied career choices helps Lynda to create stories of romantic suspense, with challenging and unpredictable plots, along with (as in all romances) very happy endings.

Lynda joined the Romantic Novelist Association in 2014 under the umbrella of the New Writers Scheme and in 2015, her debut novel House of Secrets won the Choc Lit & Whole Story Audiobooks Search for a Star competition.

She lives in a small rural hamlet near Doncaster, with her husband, Haydn, whom she’s been happily married to for over 20 years.

Book Blurb:

HOUSE OF SECRETS

A woman on the run, a broken man and a house with a shocking secret …

Madeleine Frost has to get away. Her partner Liam has become increasingly controlling to the point that Maddie fears for her safety, and that of her young daughter Poppy.

Desperation leads Maddie to the hotel owned by her estranged father – the extraordinarily beautiful Wrea Head Hall in Yorkshire. There, she meets Christopher ‘Bandit’ Lawless, an ex-marine and the gamekeeper of the hall, whose brusque manner conceals a painful past.

After discovering a diary belonging to a previous owner, Maddie and Bandit find themselves immersed in the history of the old house, uncovering its secrets, scandals, tragedies – and, all the while, becoming closer.

But Liam still won’t let go, he wants Maddie back, and when Liam wants something he gets it, no matter who he hurts …

Winner of Choc Lit & Whole Story Audiobooks 2015 Search for a Star competition. 

1.   When did you first realize that you wanted to become a writer?

I was around 14 years old. I was bought a typewriter for Christmas and immediately began tapping out the stories.

2.   What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I’d really love to be a best-selling author, I mean come on, who wouldn’t.??

3.   Which writers inspire you?

I’m inspired by all writing. Of course I’ve read all the classics, but I particularly love anything written by Tess Gerritsen,

4.   So, what have you written?

My first novel, House of Secrets came out in July of 2016 which is currently in the TOP 20 of Romantic Suspense.

5.   What are you working on at the minute?

I’m currently working on my next novel, Tell Me No Secrets. My heroine, Kate Duggan was involved in a car accident, an accident that killed her brother, James and paralysed her twin sister, Eve. Kate herself, was left with facial scars, a deep, red puckered scar that is carved into her jawline. But, everyone tells her she’s the lucky one, the one who walked away. Shortly after the accident she meets Rob, and feels lucky that anyone would want to be with her, but shortly after beginning her new job as a private investigator, her whole life falls to pieces. But, can her new work colleague, Ben Parker help put the pieces back together?

6.   Why do you write?

I used to be a Scuba Diving Instructor but was involved in a bad car accident that destroyed my shoulder, meaning I couldn’t teach anymore. So, I turned to my first love of writing and in 2015, I won the Choc Lit Search for a Star competition and my first novel was subsequently published by them.

7.   Where do your ideas come from?

I had an unusual upbringing. You could say that my childhood was disruptive and then was I married at 19 to my first husband who had narcissism. You could say I learned a lot from the experience.

8.   How do you think you’ve evolved creatively?

In a huge way. I think you learn writing like a craft. There are so many rules, but most importantly there is a lot of fun to be had along the way.

9.   What are the hardest and easiest things about writing?

The hardest thing about writing is ensuring that the plot works. You end up writing it over and over and by the time you’ve finished, you’ve read and written the same manuscript over 20 times.

The easiest thing is the support. The author society is amazing.

10.  Do you read much and if so who are your favourite authors?

I try not to read. Especially when I’m writing. But if pushed, I read Tess Gerritsen.

11.  What would you say are the main advantages and disadvantages of self-publishing against being published or the other way around?

I always wanted to be traditionally published, it was important to me to be recognised in the right circles. I would never have self-published, I doubt I’d have had the confidence to do it.

12.  Do you have any advice for other budding authors?

Keep writing. Never stop.

13.  How do you relax?

Ha ha… I don’t. When I’m not writing. I’m working, I’m a Sales Director, so the pressure is always on.

14.  What is your favourite book and why?

Oh my word…. that’s hard. I’ve recently read The Chic Boutique on Baker Street by Rachel Dove and When Dragonflies hover by Annemarie Brear. Both were amazing.

15.  If you could be a character from any book, who would it be and why?

Oh…. I’d love to be Jane Rizzoli, the detective from the Rizzoli and Isles books by Tess Gerritsen. I love the idea of being a crime solving detective.

Thanks Lynda for a great in-depth look into your world. Best of luck with 2017.

Check out Lynda’s links below:

Link to Choc Lit: click

Link to Amazon https: click

Facebook:  click

Twitter: click

Website:  click

More book stuff coming soon, including my new cover reveal for the republished Unknown.

Leave a Reply

